Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: ArmA editing virgin says hello and thanks OFPEC  (Read 1592 times)

Offline Bahger

• Members
ArmA editing virgin says hello and thanks OFPEC
« on: 15 Jul 2009, 03:06:13 »
Hey gents.  First post, thanks for your hospitality.

As much as I enjoy playing ArmA 2, I suspect that the mission editor rather than the campaign is going to be my home in this sim.  I have no experience creating and editing scenarios in OFP/ArmA but suspect I'll pick it up quickly as I did some quite advanced mission design in "Steel Beasts", another strongly tactical sim with a great editor.

I'm about to jump into the ArmA 2 editor.  My goal is to make and publish tactical, squad or platoon-size missions with the player participating in an infantry role on a fully-populated battlefield with realistic air and/or artillery support.  I'm not so interested in creating cinematics, I'd rather let the great visuals take care of themselves while I supply the player with a convincing recreation of the kind of problems and decisions a Lieutenant or Captain might have to confront under fire.  Where there are tanks, helos and A-10s they will probably not be playable but there as transport or battlefield support, and subject to realistic limitations.

I am very glad indeed to have found this site and intent to consume the very helpful beginner's guide to the editor.  Meanwhile I have two questions:

1.  Is there any chance that the "sample" mission supplied alongside the ArmA editing tutorial might be updated to work in ArmA 2?  If so, rest assured that I'll be recreating it, using it, playing it and looking hard under the hood.

2.  Can anyone recommend user-made missions for ArmA 2 that conform to the intent described above which I can play and study?

Many thanks once again.

Offline nominesine

• Former Staff
  • I'm NOT back!
    • The IKB Forum
Re: ArmA editing virgin says hello and thanks OFPEC
« Reply #1 on: 15 Jul 2009, 10:20:56 »