Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: SQFhousepatrol script (AI patrolling randomly in buildings) BETA  (Read 2057 times)

Offline laggy

• Members
  • "Behold a pale horse"
SQFhousepatrol script by Laggy.

This is my first attempt in script submission.  :scratch:
Hope nothing similar is allready out there, in that case.  :-[

0.9 BETA version

In many missions I've missed the tension of enemy AI patrolling randomly in buildings.
Waypoints are static and just placing units in a building usually doesn't do the trick either.
With this easy to use script you just have to place a group close to any building with AI paths.
It is important to know the max number of positions in the building you want to use. This is checked easily in editor with a waypoint.

Script is MP friendly as far as I know, tested on a dedicated server.
Feedback and "adjustment ideas" are allways welcome.

The script can be run from a leaders init line or a trigger.
To set the script parameters is also important.

EXAMPLE:

call { [leader groupname, 180, 0, 266] execVM "SQFhousepatrol.sqf"; };

- leader groupname: The script is designed to be put in leaders init, in which case you can change "leader groupname" to "this".
Or do like in the example above in case of running from a trigger.

- 180: This number is the max number of seconds that runs before the units are ordered to new positions. The time limit is random.
Any time can be set, but the shorter the time, the more unlikely the units will reach their positions before ordered elsewhere.
In smaller buildings with less positions a shorter time period might be wanted.
In my example the range will be 0-180 seconds.

- 0: This is the lowest buildingposnumber you want any unit to move to.
Let's say you want a squad to only patrol a rooftop, then you set the "lowest" position desirable as this parameter.
This number can not be a negative one. 0 is the lowest possible.