Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Ideas and questions for the ECP, CoC, and the FDF - MOD teams  (Read 3153 times)

makkaramies

Hello everybody!

I served in the Finnish military 94-95. so I have some real life experience to back up my points of wiew. IÂ've played OFP for meny years now and tried to keep up with the latest upgrades and so on. ;D

First topics:

Bullet hits on the water surface (snow/ ice)?
Bullet hits on the wet ground on wet places, or during wet weather (snow/ice)??
Exploding ordnance hits on water (snow/ice)???

I think that this is the most important effect that is missing from the OFP allmost completely. Somebody (ECP) has tried to do little about this but the results are quite eerh... how can I say this, well bad. It is surprising to me because now days the game actually starts to be quite realistic. Some  modÂ's are simply fantastic ;D and they have put amazing attention to detail, visual effects and functionality. But sometimes I wonder if anybody has ever seen even pictures of the things that happen in real life situation. Example 12,7 AT tracer rounds hitting sand or hard groud from 600m, or 100m range? The "cloudlets" of the game are not accurate effects compared to the real thing, not even close. But in the game they are ... I guess they are ok, just too small. When people can do amazing realistic effects aroud other realism facts, why this is so difficult to produce?

makkaramies

Ideas & questions for the ECP, CoC, and FDF-MOD teams
« Reply #1 on: 22 Nov 2004, 08:31:09 »
HELLO AGAIN!

Second topics:

Back in the days... ;D in the military I had the opportunety to train and fire with quite wide range of different weapons in the Finnish military.
In the OFP people have done a great job with the weapon systems available. ;D

But has any one of you guys ever fired live rounds from MG? I bet you have but why there is a very very important realism factor still unsolved ???