Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Please be gentle...  (Read 1613 times)

Offline c0chese

• Members
Please be gentle...
« on: 05 Nov 2011, 19:32:57 »
While not a complete noob to the series, I am completely clueless when it comes to anything more than placing units and copy/pasting scripts for some basic things like setting aircraft height etc.  I would really like to learn, but it is going to have to be from the ground up. Can anyone recommend any sites, books or anything that can give me a better understanding of scripting? I really want to learn, but I get so lost, it would be so helpful if someone could just give me a solid starting point.  :(

Offline savedbygrace

• Intel Depot
  • Administrator
  • Be swift to hear...slow to speak...slow to wrath.
Re: Please be gentle...
« Reply #1 on: 06 Nov 2011, 03:26:32 »
If you truly want to learn, the absolute best way to do so is to play a mission through, see what features it offers that you find interesting, depbo that mission and open it up in the editor to compare sensors and other in editor structure to what you find in the mission files such as the scripts or description.ext and slowly pull each strand apart to see how it is layered. Once you have an idea of how it works, start trying to implement that simple idea into a new mission of your own and then tweak it to see how thins change.