Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Respawn with same weapons you had before dying using while "" do {} command  (Read 4538 times)

Offline toadlife

• OFPEC Old Skool
  • Former Staff
  • Official OFP Editing Center Toad
    • toadlife.net
Not really a question, but a tip. I'm not sure if this is worthy of being a code snippet, or if someone hasnt allready submitted it, so I figured I'd post it here.

I'm not a programmer by any means, so when I first heard about the new functions of OFP scripting, I didn't get too excited. Yesterday, the value of the new scripting abilities in 1.85 became evident to me when I wanted to write a script that would, upon respawning, give a unit the same weapons that they had when they died.

Using the new - while "" do {} - ability in 1.85 makes this much easier than writing a loop.

Here is the code that will give the unit named "w1" his weapons back when he respawns.

Note that you have to make a script for each player in a MP game with the player's name in the script, or the script will not be able to detect when he respawns.[/u]

Code: [Select]
#respawnloop
@!alive w1
_guns = weapons w1
_guncount = count weapons w1
_mags = magazines w1
_magcount = count magazines w1
@alive w1
w1 removeWeapon "m16";w1 removeMagazines "m16";
_c = 0
while "_c <= (_magcount - 1)" do {w1 addmagazine (_mags select _c); _c = _c + 1}
_c = 0
while "_c <= (_guncount - 1)" do {w1 addweapon (_guns select _c); _c = _c + 1}
w1 selectweapon primaryweapon w1
goto "respawnloop"
exit
« Last Edit: 05 Nov 2002, 02:14:36 by toadlife »
"Whenever you want information on the 'net, don't ask a question; just post a wrong answer." -- Cancer Omega.

Offline toadlife

• OFPEC Old Skool
  • Former Staff
    • toadlife.net
Same code, but different
« Reply #1 on: 05 Nov 2002, 02:13:25 »