Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: using edit field to set direction and distance to create a marker.  (Read 3124 times)

Offline jones

• Members
You have to bear with me as I am new to scripting. My intent is to use edit fields in a dialog to set a position on the map to create a marker using distance and direction.
I plan on using this for a foward obsever / fire control script with artillery or missiles. I have spent some time know getting a handle on dialogs and I have done a few smaller scripts. Nothing fancy. I have the frame work for what I want but i am still inexperienced with scripting.
How I inted this script to work. There will be a foward observer and he can bring up his postion in relation to a register fire gun. (Center formation) in distance and degrees, i.e 327 degrees at 1200 meters. I have completed this part of the script. The fire control officer will then have a simple UI and will have to calculate the fire mission and enter it into the dialog and mark target and or call fire mission. The FO tells the FCO his position from the register fire gun and the distance and direction of the target from is position . The FCO will have to use a little math to determine the direction and distance of the the target. And or have predesignated targets areas to effectively hit the target. I would just like to create a system that has a higher learning curve than clicking on the map.

I have created a dialog, albiet a simple one that has two text fields, two edit fields, two active text fields, and two buttons.