Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: How to make AI Say something random?  (Read 1505 times)

Offline Landdon

• Members
How to make AI Say something random?
« on: 04 Aug 2008, 01:37:37 »
I am working on a mission where a team must infiltrate an area.  One of the things I would to use, to dispel reality is to have the OPFOR say (play a ogg sound file) when they are a set distance or less to the OPFOR AI.   I would assume a trigger, but I am just starting to learn how to script, and I'm not sure how to do this in Arma. I have made the ogg sound files already, after that I'm not sure on how to proceed.  If anyone has the time to provide me with an example could you please post it here.  Thanks! 

Offline loki72

• Former Staff
    • Loki's Nightmare
Re: How to make AI Say something random?
« Reply #1 on: 04 Aug 2008, 04:11:27 »
greetings,

there are many ways to do what you want. the easiest is:

define the sound(s) in the description.ext:
Code: [Select]
// Sounds
class cfgSounds
{
sounds[] = {};

class jet1
{
name = "Jet1";
sound[] = {"\sounds\JetPass.ogg", 0.5, 1.2};
titles[] = {};
};

class valk
{
name = "Valk";
sound[] = {"\sounds\Valk.ogg", 100, 1};
titles[] = {};
};
};

then make sure your sound file(s) are in your mission folder. add a trigger to the area... in the activation line put:

Code: [Select]
playsound "jet1";

but if you want to get really tricky.. i'd suggest you look at wolfrug's awesome DSAI

Offline Spooner

• Members
  • Mostly useless
    • Community Base Addons
« Reply #2 on: 04 Aug 2008, 10:50:11 »
Loki explained how to define sounds, but missed out the randomness and that an AI had to speak (say), rather than the sound just be played to the player (playsound: played directly without coming from a set position). Assuming you'd named your OPFOR soldier opfor1 and defined three sounds as Loki described (in the example, talk1, talk2 and talk3 classes):

Code: (trigger On Act) [Select]