Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: spawn objects?  (Read 980 times)

Offline thedog

• Members
spawn objects?
« on: 26 Jun 2008, 15:31:43 »
hey guys im pretty new around here, and im pretty new to scripting. i was making a training map with pop up targets ( target E the blue ones ) and i have about 6 firing ranges right now, in different locations and i will be adding more. to reduce lag i wanted each range to spawn once i get there and despawn once i leave, or on a radio command. ive been looking up and down on several websites, google, tried different script packs and so muchs for days now. all i need is a simple way to do it, or somebody to walk me through step by step.

objective is to spawn pop up targets ( objects ) once you reach a certain area, and despawn them when training is done and you have left the training site...

any help please?

Offline Spooner

• Members
  • Mostly useless
    • Community Base Addons
Re: spawn objects?
« Reply #1 on: 26 Jun 2008, 15:38:18 »
I'm not sure that having a few firing ranges, even with hundreds of targets in total, will cause much lag really. Are you sure it is really making a difference? Although people do have "only spawn when I'm near" scripts, it is generally to prevent there being a lot of AI being active (since AI have to think as well as be displayed). Even then, it is when there are a large number of them and usually only in larger MP missions.

What you ask is certainly possible, but it seems an unnecessary effort (if it ain't broke, don't fix it).

[Arma 2] CBA: Community Base Addons
[Arma 1] SPON Core (including links to my other scripts)

Offline thedog

• Members
« Reply #2 on: 26 Jun 2008, 15:47:31 »