Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Laser Guided Bombs - questions  (Read 2319 times)

Offline Urbanski

• Members
Laser Guided Bombs - questions
« on: 22 Jan 2008, 20:36:16 »
Hi All,

I'm new to ArmA but I owned OFP and used to create my own missions, some even wound up on this site  :)

I haven't done any editing for a few years so I'm very rusty and only remember the absolute basics.

In OFP I created a mission which ended with the player using the laser designator to target a vehicle then getting the A10 to drop an LGB on it. Im looking to do the same in ArmA.

Questions

1. Is this possible in ArmA? The mechanics of the editor seem the same but I've tried a few things and no luck.

2. The designator in ArmA looks different and when equipped the weapon description appears in the top left in red with a 0 next to it. Does this indicate ammo?

3. If so how do I equip the ammo, Ive tried addmagazine "laserDesignator" but no luck.

4. The OFP laser used to change reticule when the target was set, this doesn't happen with the ArmA laser - how does it work?

5. I'm using the AV-8B (GBU) harrier as this seems to be the only allied plane armed with LGBs, is this right?

I've done a search for this topic in the forums but all the posts were in reference to OFP, any help is appreciated.

Its good to be back  :good:

Looking forward to creating some cool missions

Thanks

Offline Mandoble

• Former Staff
    • Grunt ONE and MandoMissile suite
Re: Laser Guided Bombs - questions
« Reply #1 on: 22 Jan 2008, 20:54:45 »
ArmA LD uses "Laserbatteries" as magazines: List of ArmA weapons and magazine classes

So you need the "Laserdesignator" added as weapon and "Laserbatteries" added as magazine.

Offline Urbanski

• Members
« Reply #2 on: 22 Jan 2008, 22:35:16 »
Ahh thanks...its working now

Only problem is accuracy, the LGB misses the target 9 times out of 10 with the pilot skill up to maximum

I will continue testing.

nice one

Offline Mandoble

• Former Staff