Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Resume SP mission crashing  (Read 1659 times)

Offline chocolate

• Members
Resume SP mission crashing
« on: 06 Oct 2007, 14:57:32 »
Update April 2008
The problem is with using addon islands.  I patched up to 1.11 and, after reading all the notes here (thanks) I experimented.  I still could not resume, but now my units started floating above the ocean and fell to their deaths.  I copied the mission over to Sahrani island and tried again.  Now I could resume without problems.   I even copied my island addons into the game addons folder, but it made no difference.

Resume/retry only works with BIS supplied islands.   By the way...I was using stock units with no addon units.

Same is true with the new 1.12 beta patch.   I  have not tried on a BIS island with addon units.

--------------
I have been scripting for 5 years, so know how to do it.  This problem stumps me.

I can create missions in the editor that will load and play in SP but always crash to desktop when I hit
the resume button.

Does anybody know a fix for this?   Anybody know why CTD happens on resume?

I have the US version patched to 1.08 with the hotfix applied.  No problems running 'their' built-in missions and resuming. Windows XP HOME fully updated, 2GB RAM, 256 MB video ATI card.
« Last Edit: 04 Apr 2008, 22:37:01 by chocolate »

Offline h-

• OFPEC Site
  • Administrator
  • Formerly HateR_Kint
    • OFPEC
Re: Resume SP mission crashing
« Reply #1 on: 06 Oct 2007, 15:09:32 »
Do you use large amount of units and/or a lot of global variables?

Both are known to corrupt the save file and cause CTD.
Should be fixed in the next patch though (no idea when that's due..).
Project MCAR   ---   Northern Fronts   ---   Emitter 3Ditor
INFORMATIVE THREAD TITLES PLEASE. "PLEASE HELP" IS NOT ONE..
Chuck Norris can divide by zero.

Offline chocolate

• Members
« Reply #2 on: 07 Oct 2007, 00:16:56 »