Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Dumb- but probably simple- Question  (Read 446 times)

Shenton

Dumb- but probably simple- Question
« on: 31 Oct 2003, 02:55:46 »
Hi there.

Just got a quick question. I'm new to all this scripting stuff, and at the moment it all sounds like gibberish to me, as I know nothing about the syntax / format of writing scripts - what to put where in what order, with what punctuation etc.

Could someone give me a quick answer to this (If it's possible):

In a buildings init field, I want a line that makes all the streetlights on a map go out when the building is destroyed. I know it's something to do with alive equalling false, and setlight to off, but exactly how to write it I have no idea. Nor whether it would actually work...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline macguba

• Former Staff
    • macguba's operation flashpoint page
Re:Dumb- but probably simple- Question
« Reply #1 on: 31 Oct 2003, 13:37:06 »
First off, go and read snYpir's Friendly Intro to Code Snippets and also Johan Gustafsson's Scripting Tutorial.    This is now the accepted way of getting started in scripting.    

Now, the init field of a unit is the appropriate place for a command that you want that unit to execute at the very start of the mission.   If you're talking about something that you want to happen, say one second into the mission or later, then the init field is unlikely to be the best place for the command.

In the case of a building being destroyed what you need is a trigger.    (The editing tutorial which comes with the game calls them sensors, which is an equally good name:  they "sense" when something has occurred and, in general "trigger" a conseqence.)