Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Spoter script  (Read 2864 times)

Teryan

Spoter script
« on: 10 Aug 2003, 00:01:52 »
I would like to make/have a script where the spoter.
It goes like this:

Sniper (you) find person, right click on them.
Spoter trackes enemy until you right click on something else or thing dies.
During that time the spoter calls out the range from the spoter to the target (with in 10% accuracy) every three seconds.
Each time the sniper fires the spoter calls a hit or a miss.

Any idea how I could make this?  I'm just getting into the tutorials on the site and this is just a little over my head.

SharkDog

Re:Spoter script
« Reply #1 on: 10 Aug 2003, 13:34:57 »
Whats a spoter?

SheepOnMintSauce

« Reply #2 on: 10 Aug 2003, 15:52:16 »
I think he means spotter.  :)

Crassus

« Reply #3 on: 10 Aug 2003, 16:39:07 »
May I suggest posting a reference to this question in the Advanced Scripting section....

What your asking for is advanced scripting requiring the following:
  • That a specific person or persons be audibly identified.
I don't believe there is a way to script detecting mouse or keyboard actions, beyond the command which will wait for the player to press "C".

• Your spotter to track the target
Probably just a series of doWatch commands, with checks to make sure he's still watching the intended target

• Intermittent checks and reporting of distance between your sniper/spotter team and the target(s).
  • A method of detecting whether your shots hit or miss (and you call yourself a sniper!  ;D)
    I don't believe there is a method for detecting this. Though, and I'm probably just spewing junk, I believe there's a command to check if a weapons been fired, so if you fire your weapon, and a getDammage check of your target(s) is made and found to be zero, then perhaps "hit" or "miss" could be scripted.

Again, I could be talking out of my arse, so get help from real scripters.

Teryan

« Reply #4 on: 10 Aug 2003, 18:58:11 »