Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Creating Garrisons, Creating Airdrop Reinforcements, Creating A Money System  (Read 1667 times)

Offline Beagle

• Members
  • OFPARMAFTW!
Hey - first post on OFPEC, site looks great so far I have to say, already read some interesting stuff on here  :D

The reason for my post is I'm aiming to make a big mission - one where you start off in one of the tiny little islands at the south-west corner of the Sahrani Map (e.g. Isla de la Caja?), and go from island to island, town to town taking over all the bases/towns in the entire map. It works a bit like a single player CTI - You get money from holding towns, you order units and build up your forces, etc...

My problem is I have all these ideas for how I want my mission to work that I really want to use, but I have trouble with the scripting side; I'm still a pretty novice editor and so I run into a lot of problems when I'm trying to get stuff to work. Mainly stuff I've seen work before in other missions and am not sure how to get it working from scratch in my own.  :blink: So I was hoping that if I ask for help on the forums I might be able to get some expert advice...

There's three problems I've run into right now, and I'm still pretty early on in the mission:

First, I imagined that itd be too laggy to simply put all the enemy troops on the map at the start of the mission seeing as there would be hundreds of them (I'm aiming for it to be a really big mission ;D) so I wanted to put triggers in every town/base so that when BLUFOR gets close to them, that's when a script creates all the units in the town. I'm pretty sure this is how the old MFCTI in flashpoint created resistance fighters in every town when enemies approached.

But I ran into problem just trying to use createUnit  :dry: this is the script i wrote and was trying to use:

ra3 = rahmadiair1 createUnit ["SoldierEB", position rahmadiairlogic, [], 0, "FORM"]