Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Getting a squad to enter a chopper.  (Read 1627 times)

Offline MuadDib

• Members
Getting a squad to enter a chopper.
« on: 23 Feb 2007, 16:36:36 »
Im new to editing in Armed Assault, yet I used to dabble in it in OPflash, yet I have currently hit a frustrating snag. Cheers to anyone who can suggest a method to rectify this annoying problem.

First off I have a blackhawk that starts off flying, the first waypoint is a LOAD on a nice little clearing then some movement waypoints etc.

I have a squad of 5 soldiers whos first waypoint is GET IN that is centred and synchronised on the LOAD waypoint of the chopper, then a GET OUT command on the choppers UNLOAD command set some way off.

Here is the problem, the chopper does not land to pick up the units. It will simply fly for a distance of around 100 metres in front of the LOAD waypoint and hover there forever. The squad of infantry will obediently follow the chopper and then wait around underneath it for all eternity. What am I doing wrong? I know its probably something simple as I had this all working beautifully back in op flash (without using any scripting) but for the life of me I just cant remember what I did.

Offline bedges

• Administrator
    • OFPEC The Editing Center
Re: Getting a squad to enter a chopper.
« Reply #1 on: 23 Feb 2007, 16:48:52 »
first, try putting a helipad (visible or invisible, shouldn't matter) at the landing spot.

also, in the 'on activation' part of the load waypoint, put

Code: [Select]
chopper_name land "get in"
if you remember anything from your ofp days, you'll recall choppers make the already unpredictable AI even more scatty. there are a few chopper scripts in the ed depot - if all else fails you could give them a look.

oh, and welcome back  8)

Offline MuadDib

• Members
« Reply #2 on: 24 Feb 2007, 04:17:02 »
hey there, thanks for replying so quick :P