Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Realistic Weapons  (Read 3083 times)

ghillisniper_270

Realistic Weapons
« on: 27 Apr 2005, 02:29:00 »
Here's the cheese, I am not very experienced when it comes to OFP editing.  I've been working on it for just over three years and I am way behind still.  However, I am a bit of a gun nut, and am fairly experienced with firearms in the real world.  My favorite passtime is actually researching, shooting, modifying, and looking at firearms.  Although I have downloaded some really amazing and realistic weapons addons recently, I still notice a few mistakes that seem to bug me.  I figured I'd share them and if noone cares, noone cares.

Okay, here we go.  Hope noone gets offended or anything.

First, all those M16A1's out there should not have a forward assist (the "bump" on the right side just under the back of the carry handle) and should not have selective fire.  I'm 99.9% sure that no single M16A1 ever had these features.

Second, you can't silence a high powered rifle.  The bullet is going supersonic and breaks the sound barrier; therefore, while suppression is possible, silencing is not and there will still be noise.  (the only obvious "breakage" of this rule was the M82 that sounded like a H&K MP5SD6)

Third, Shotguns, shotguns, shotguns.  I'd rather carry a single shot .410 that works 1/2 the time into battle than any of the shotties I've downloaded for OFP.  The only way to kill someone is to stick the weapon to their chest and squeeze one off.  I think this might be a game engine problem or something (I honestly don't know about that!), because I've noticed the way OFP shotguns work is to use about 10 bullets and shoot them in succession.  I don't know, but it kind of sucks.  I'm not trying to bash anyone who might have made one of these weapons, cause I know there are limitations, but if someone can figure out a way to make one of these work realistically, you'd be my hero!