Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Simple scripting  (Read 3029 times)

Offline Bontz07

• Members
Simple scripting
« on: 16 May 2012, 18:36:40 »
Hey

Im trying to learn a bit of scripting and now I try to do very simple OFP cwc mission.

I have a question about script that makes a group move to the position that I want. Whit aid of internet I figured out something like this...

_group1 = _this select 0 (group that should move)
_P = _this select 1 (position where to move, an object on the map)

if trig5=true
   then
      {_group1 domove (getpos _P)}

That really doesn't work. What is the correct way to do this? Im a newbie 8).

How could I learn easily scripting? This is very interesting, but I don't find any good advice.

Is there any rule in which order the objects, arrays... etc comes? <-- How to know what is correct appearance of script?

« Last Edit: 16 May 2012, 18:46:12 by Bontz07 »

Offline Gruntage

• Missions Depot
  • Administrator
  • How do I get outta this chickensh*t outfit?
Re: Simple scripting
« Reply #1 on: 16 May 2012, 21:45:00 »
Welcome to the forums Bontz  :)

Basically the 'IF' command in OFP is in the format of:
Code: [Select]
if (a>b) then {goto "whatever"}
...or something like that.

Instead of what you put, try using this:

? trig5: leader _group1 domove (getpos _P)

It's been a few weeks since I lasted scripted anything so I can't remember whether there's any better way of doing what you wanted.

When I started learning sqs for the first time I just looked through BIS's missions and the numerous threads in this section of the forum.

As for your last question, there isn't really any specific order to go by. Just remember that when doing:

_bla = _this select <insert number>

...you start with '0'. Though I think you've already worked that out.