Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Essential Multiplayer Information  (Read 2052 times)

Offline Callaghan

• Members
Essential Multiplayer Information
« on: 08 Mar 2008, 19:04:11 »
I have searched hi and low for this simple yet essential information and I cannot find it anywhere.
Coops are easy to make, I churn them out no problem.
Team Deathmatches and sector controls on the other hand I have no idea how to do and really can't find anything on the subject.
Pretend i'm an absolute beginner.
What scripts do I need to make, where do I call them from and generally what, where, how and why.
All I need is enough information to make a team deathmatch template, that tallies up the scores and declares victories after a 100 point limit.
Any and all help will be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Offline Rommel92

• Members
Re: Essential Multiplayer Information
« Reply #1 on: 10 Mar 2008, 07:11:36 »
Best bet would be to open up another persons map and look at that, but in any case.

Gathering your doing a typical team deathmatch.

Setup two respawn points, (respawn_west - respawn_east) just as you would in a Coop.
And then two playable sides, the rest are just bonus features.  :good:

Offline Callaghan

• Members
« Reply #2 on: 10 Mar 2008, 13:50:10 »
Thanks but that I already know, the things I need to get my head around include
public variables - how do they work and how do I use them?
Score systems - is there a template available anywhere or what are the scripts I need to tally scores for both sides, say who has won, and display the team scores on screen?
How do I make events from the game add to the scores i.e. +1 to wscore each time an opfor player is killed or vice versa, taking into account teamkills and falling etc.

Offline Loyalguard

• Former Staff
« Reply #3 on: 12 Mar 2008, 10:19:33 »
Callaghan-

Here is a quick summary of public variables.  First, if you haven't already review these in entries in the Comref:

publicVariable