Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: knowsAbout position?  (Read 1544 times)

Offline Engima

• Members
knowsAbout position?
« on: 08 Oct 2010, 13:33:42 »
Hi everyone! I'm new in this ArmA world, (I switched from Silent Hunter since the total failure of Silent Hunter 5). Anyway, I'm trying to learn about scripting, and I currently have a question about the knowsAbout function.

I've figured out that the knowsAbout value is between 0 and 4, and that if an enemy unit knows enough about me it has also put me on a position (if I run away from that position and it doesn't se me, the last position I was seen in is still the position the enemy unit knows about). Now, am I right about this, and is there any way for me to somehow get that position?

The thing is that I want another unit redirected to that spot, but right now I'm just able to redirect it to "position player" which is a little too accurate...

Offline Wolfrug

• Addons Depot
  • Former Staff
  • Official OFPEC Old Timer
Re: knowsAbout position?
« Reply #1 on: 08 Oct 2010, 14:26:54 »
Hello there Engima, and welcome to the wonderful world of Arma Editing!

You're quite correct as to how knowsAbout works, but I don't really see the problem? Let's say unit1 knowsabout the player, and sends unit2 to the player's location: as long as these two events are simultaneous (unit1 spots player, collects player's position, and then orders unit2 to move there), there's nothing stopping the player from moving on from that position and out of unit2's way. To wit:

Code: [Select]
waitUntil {unit1 knowsabout Player > 2};
_pos = position Player;
unit2 doMove _pos;