OFPEC Forum

Editors Depot - Mission Editing and Scripting => ArmA - Editing/Scripting General => Topic started by: SaintPier on 08 Jul 2012, 17:53:10

Title: ShowGPS false does not work
Post by: SaintPier on 08 Jul 2012, 17:53:10
Hi people,

When I enter the briefing while in the game I always get that GPS thing.
I tried to disable that with 'ShowGPS false' but it still shows.
'ShowGPS=false' also doesn't work.
Does anyone know how to hide the GPS?

thx
SaintPier
Title: Re: ShowGPS false does not work
Post by: Worldeater on 10 Jul 2012, 00:14:39
I tried to disable that with 'ShowGPS false' but it still shows.

Yes, putting this in the init fields of units does not seem to work. It looks like showGPS has to be set after the mission starts.

There are many ways to run code after a mission starts.

You could create a trigger that fires reliably on every mission start (like a really big one that's being activated once by anybody) and put "showGPS false" in its "On Act." field.

Another way would be to add something like this to your init.sqf:
Code: [Select]
// create a small script that runs in the background
//   where it waits until the mission starts
//   and then disables the GPS for us

0 spawn {
  waitUntil { time > 0 };
  showGPS false;
};
Title: Re: ShowGPS false does not work
Post by: SaintPier on 15 Jul 2012, 14:02:54
Thanks Worldeater.
Will try that.
Title: Re: ShowGPS false does not work
Post by: ModestNovice on 06 Aug 2012, 21:55:28
Isn't showGps part of the description.ext?
Title: Re: ShowGPS false does not work
Post by: Gruntage on 06 Aug 2012, 22:13:28
It is. You can disable it from the description.ext or you can use the solution that WorldEater mentioned...

Code: [Select]
showGPS = 1;
...makes it appear

Code: [Select]
showGPS = 0;
...makes it disappear upon the start of the mission
Title: Re: ShowGPS false does not work
Post by: ModestNovice on 06 Aug 2012, 22:16:57
Ah I was not aware that you could use it in scripts. Interesting...