OFPEC Forum

Editors Depot - Mission Editing and Scripting => Arma2 - Editing/Scripting Multiplayer => Topic started by: Zonekiller on 30 Sep 2009, 02:09:47

Title: Briefing does not show for JIP
Post by: Zonekiller on 30 Sep 2009, 02:09:47
Briefing does not show for JIP

I have made my briefing.sqf added [] execVM "briefing.sqf ";to the init.sqf file

Yey all works BUT -theres always a but-

if your there when the mission starts all is good
but when you JIP Hmmm no Breifing
i did notice that you dont get a briefing screen when JIP
and when i go to the map its not there.
so is this normal or can it be fixed.

i also tried adding nil = [] execVM "briefing.sqf "; to a Logic  -- Same problem --

Any Ideas  ????
Title: Re: Briefing does not show for JIP
Post by: Pirin on 30 Sep 2009, 03:18:36
http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?t=86206 (http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?t=86206)
Title: Re: Briefing does not show for JIP
Post by: Rommel92 on 12 Oct 2009, 14:34:10
Code: [Select]
nil = [] execVM "briefing.sqf"
You may not use nil, but never make it equal a boolean, you may kill some default BIS functions with that!!!
Title: Re: Briefing does not show for JIP
Post by: Inkompetent on 21 Nov 2009, 10:20:53
Sounds like the briefing is run too early, before the JIP client is ready to get his briefing set up.

If you don't have it already (which it seems to me like you don't), add the following to the top of your briefing.sqf script:
Code: [Select]
waitUntil { !isNull player };
waitUntil { player == player };

Note that this will NOT set the proper objective-status for the JIP client if they are done straight through triggers, since triggers aren't syncronized on JIP. You will have to use publicVariable in some form in JIP missions to broadcast objective status changes, since publicVariabled stuff is sent to JIP clients when they connect.
Title: Re: Briefing does not show for JIP
Post by: Zonekiller on 25 Nov 2009, 21:52:42
thanks guys got it to work

thanks for your help