OFPEC Forum

Editors Depot - Mission Editing and Scripting => ArmA - Editing/Scripting Resources Beta Testing & Submission => Topic started by: Dr Eyeball on 20 Mar 2007, 02:51:19

Title: Team Status Dialog (ACCEPTED)
Post by: Dr Eyeball on 20 Mar 2007, 02:51:19
I have created a Team Status Dialog for ArmA 1.05. I have a thread (http://www.flashpoint1985.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard311/ikonboard.cgi?;act=ST;f=71;t=60075) on the BIS forums about it. It should be fully functioning at this stage.

Features:
- Group joining
- Team Leader selection
- Grid of statistics for team/group/vehicle/opposition

Download: Sample mission including Team Status Dialog v1.0 files
v1.3 Download (http://www.ofpec.com/ed_depot/index.php?action=details&id=412)

Screenshots: (reduced from 1280x1024 to 800x600)
(http://s111.photobucket.com/albums/n125/Dr_Eyeball/ArmA/th_ArmA_TeamStatusDialog1.jpg) (http://s111.photobucket.com/albums/n125/Dr_Eyeball/ArmA/th_ArmA_TeamStatusDialog2.jpg) (http://s111.photobucket.com/albums/n125/Dr_Eyeball/ArmA/th_ArmA_TeamStatusDialog3.jpg) (http://s111.photobucket.com/albums/n125/Dr_Eyeball/ArmA/th_ArmA_TeamStatusDialog4.jpg)

Purpose:
The dialog features:
- Group joining
- Team Leader selection
- Grid of statistics for team/group/vehicle/opposition

The bulk of it is purely informational with stats about your team, group or vehicle. It should greatly increase the situational awareness in-game, without providing unfair or unrealistic advantage. Also the existing scoreboard doesn't even show a full player list - only 10 names.

The dialog displays your team's group information in 4 formats:

These 4 formats are accessed via the 3 buttons: "My team", "My group", "My vehicle" & "Opposition".

The columns displayed include:

Functionality:

Problems, bugs & incomplete features:

Future improvements:
Help required:

I can't seem to find commands to obtain:

Basic Usage: (for more details, see readme.txt file)
- in your description.ext file, add a line with:
  #include "TeamStatusDialog\TeamStatusDialog.hpp"

- in your init.sqf file, add a line with:
  _Action = player addAction ["> Team Status", "TeamStatusDialog\TeamStatusDialog.sqf", "Team"];

Feedback:
See the BIS forum link above for more details. Let us know what you think of it.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: hoz on 20 Mar 2007, 04:41:02
DR Eyeball your script screen shot links don't work ... but I was kind enough to fix them.  :P

Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: Cheetah on 20 Mar 2007, 15:18:53
Very well made, seems impressive and a lot of work has probably gone into this. Nice can be handy.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: Dr Eyeball on 23 Mar 2007, 12:03:03
Version 1.0 is now available.

It now features:

You need to try out the Group Joining and Team Leader Selection in-game for yourself. It seems to work quite nicely.

I changed the "Threats" column into a "Targets" column. Added an Opposition Team list page. Tidied up color scheme. New parameters.

See the first post for futher details and download links.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: ViperMaul on 15 May 2007, 03:30:40
reliable player ID (might partly use ID from "WEST 1-1-A-8")

DR Eyeball,

Could you use CDKEY?
I saw code in someone's mission, I would have to find it again, where it seemed the author was able to capture the CDKey of a player which could be used as a Player ID.

Thoughts anyone?
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: Cheetah on 15 May 2007, 09:44:05
Uhm using the CDKey of someone? Don't think I'd like such a feature.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: JasonO on 15 May 2007, 18:16:42
Yeh you wouldn't need CD key. It's not useful unless you want to ban/kick/vote them. Just keep that for the #userlist command.

Very nice dialog though. Is this the one in the Evolution coop ?
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: Dr Eyeball on 19 May 2007, 07:10:01
@ViperMaul: Unfortunately, you can't use the ID from "WEST 1-1-A-8" because it changes when you switch groups. Apparently the CDKEY command only works on a dedicated server. This would limit the use of the dialog to only work on a dedicated servers, so you couldn't use it in SP or client hosted games.
The onPlayerConnected command has _id and _name, but there's still nothing to connect that _id with a player with 100% reliability, in order to get a player id from a player object. Hope BIS add an getID command in future.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog
Post by: ViperMaul on 19 May 2007, 08:53:57
Very nice dialog though. Is this the one in the Evolution coop ?

Yes. This is the one or version of the same.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog (ACCEPTED)
Post by: Dr Eyeball on 10 Nov 2008, 01:47:57
Quick notice that this script has been updated to version 1.3 now on BIS forums (http://www.flashpoint1985.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard311/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=71;t=60075). (Minor release.)

Could someone update this entry: OFPEC Editors Depot - Team Status Dialog (http://www.ofpec.com/ed_depot/index.php?action=details&id=412&game=ArmA), which is at ver 1.1.

Feature wise for the user, there is nothing significantly different. The changes are mostly script improvements to simplify developer usage and robustness.

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog (ACCEPTED)
Post by: ViperMaul on 13 Dec 2008, 05:53:00
Could someone update this entry: OFPEC Editors Depot - Team Status Dialog (http://www.ofpec.com/ed_depot/index.php?action=details&id=412&game=ArmA), which is at ver 1.1.
Oh wow this link still appears to be set to 1.1.
Nice work Dr Eyeball.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog (ACCEPTED)
Post by: Spooner on 13 Dec 2008, 13:40:05
Updated hosted resource  (http://www.ofpec.com/ed_depot/index.php?action=details&id=412)to 1.3 and altered your download link to point at our hosted resource (the link was dead anyway). I'm afraid you do have to ask us to update your resources, preferably also attaching the new version to the release post, since we don't monitor the BIS forums just to keep up to date.

Note that you can also attach full-sized screen-shots directly to the release post if you wish.
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog (ACCEPTED)
Post by: alef on 13 Apr 2009, 19:43:56
If server.armaprofile has NetStats=0, would be nice to blank the "score".
Code: [Select]
/* NOT TESTED ! modified from Xeno's Domination */
TSD9_GetScoreTotal = {
        _player = _this select 0;

        if ([_player] call TSD9_IsVehicle || not difficultyEnabled "netStats") then {
                "--"
        } else {
                format["%1", score _player]
        };   
};
Title: Re: Team Status Dialog (ACCEPTED)
Post by: fleepee on 09 Oct 2009, 19:40:40
I've added french translations in the stringtable file... :good:
Language,English,French,German