OFPEC Forum

Editors Depot - Mission Editing and Scripting => Arma2 - Editing/Scripting Multiplayer => Topic started by: laggy on 25 Aug 2009, 16:58:09

Title: ACM module on dedicated server...
Post by: laggy on 25 Aug 2009, 16:58:09
Hi all,

Does anyone know if the ACM module works OK on a dedicated server?
I made a MP mission, which depends on the ACM.
When I host it, it is almost impossible to survive the mission.
But, some beta testers said the mission was completely uneventful.
I suspect those players tried it on a dedi.

Grateful for any input,

Laggy
Title: Re: ACM module on dedicated server...
Post by: JamesF1 on 25 Aug 2009, 17:13:52
I think you may be right (thought it'd be better to post here than in the mission thread).  I'm having fewer engagements on a mission of mine, when played on a dedi.  The mission also implements ACM.  I don't know any further than that, though.
Title: Re: ACM module on dedicated server...
Post by: laggy on 25 Aug 2009, 17:21:22
I asked on BIS forums as well, we'll see if anyone knows.
It would really su*k if the ACM isn't really dedi compatible.
The modules are otherwise the best implementations in ArmA2, I think.
Title: Re: ACM module on dedicated server...
Post by: JamesF1 on 25 Aug 2009, 17:22:39
Well, I think they do work... as I've encountered AI troops (no doubt about that).  The question is whether they perform in the same way or not, I think.
Title: Re: ACM module on dedicated server...
Post by: laggy on 05 Sep 2009, 14:34:05
OK, got it working satisfatory, thanks to nominesine and others.

The problem was most likely that I executed the code before the ACM was initiated properly.
I wrote the code in the init line of the module, which didn't work as well as this solution:

init.sqf
Code: [Select]
if (isServer) then {[] execVM "laggy_acmScript.sqf"};
laggy_acmScript.sqf
Code: [Select]
waitUntil {!isNil {BIS_ACM getVariable "initDone"}};

waitUntil {BIS_ACM getVariable "initDone"};

[0.00001, BIS_ACM] call BIS_ACM_setIntensityFunc;

[["INS", "RU"], BIS_ACM] call BIS_ACM_setFactionsFunc;  

This script keeps the script "paused" until I want the ACM to kick in.


To start the ACM, I have a trigger that is activated by a publicVariable, on activation:
Code: [Select]
[1, BIS_ACM] call BIS_ACM_setIntensityFunc;
Note that my ACM module is really named BIS_ACM in the editor.

This solution works well on a dedicated server to my experience and the intensity of fighting is OK.
Sometimes the mission is quite uneventful, even though the intensity is set to 1.
Therefore I wouldn't recommend setting the intensity lower than that.
Wish the intensity would be more consistent, but I guess that is the effect of randomness.

Laggy