OFPEC Forum

Editors Depot - Mission Editing and Scripting => ArmA - Editing/Scripting Resources Beta Testing & Submission => Topic started by: Mandoble on 07 Apr 2007, 21:27:54

Title: (Accepted) Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 07 Apr 2007, 21:27:54
mando_chaser.sqf in action.
Do you remember DUEL by Spielberg? Well, much more effective and hilarious than that old truck :D

It creates the indicated vehicle or uses an existing one to pursue and kill a list or units, well, in fact, the murdering unit is quite more interested into the drivers of these units. It will pursue and hit the vehicles until their drivers get out, then it will pursue and kill them too.

You may find it quite adequate to recreate vehicle vs vehicle accidents or whatever else you may have in mind.

Enjoy  :D

EDIT:
Updated to v1.1

EDIT:
Added a new mission without camera following the vehicle (mando_chaser_nc) and invoke.sqf so you may invoke the real devil chaser at will  :D

EDIT June 17:
mando_chaser.sqf updated to v1.1, movement adjusted to be more realistic with 1.08 physics
invoke.sqf updated to v1.1, now it tracks correctly the number of alive drivers
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Blanco on 07 Apr 2007, 22:06:39
Unbelievable, that's what I call accurate driving.
It looks like it's driven by a human, very impressive  :good:
 
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: JasonO on 08 Apr 2007, 17:34:18
Thats very good.

Keep up the great scripts you make, they are brilliant.
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: johnnyboy on 08 Apr 2007, 22:07:15
This really is brilliant, as well as highly amusing.  I need to through it line by line so I fully understand the vector commands.  Thanks alot!

This leads one to believe that it is possible to script AI choppers to "thread the needle" flying down a city street, between buildings, etc.
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 08 Apr 2007, 22:44:34
About the choppers, something was already done for OFP and it should be still compatible with ArmA: Mando Air (http://www.ofpec.com/forum/index.php?topic=27621.0)
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: ColonelSandersLite on 12 Apr 2007, 16:59:22
Out of curiosity, how difficult would it be to modify that so they keep a fixed distance from what they're moving to?

If that would be realitivly simple, it could be adapted to an easy to use convoy script that prevents the AI from going retarded like it does now.
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 12 Apr 2007, 21:51:19
As simple as immediate.
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 14 Jun 2007, 04:52:20
Is currently the only way to use this script is via a manual invoke?

Is there any way to make it a radio trigger so that way we can use it in triggers for our missions? That would be ubercool...

Russ
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 14 Jun 2007, 13:15:37
Satexas, you may execute mando_chaser.sqf from anywhere (sripts, triggers, waypoints activations, eventhanderls, etc.). What do you mean with manual invoke?
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 14 Jun 2007, 23:47:47
Mando,

I should have been  more clear, and then played with it.

What I would like to do in a couple of my "fun" missions, is set up a few triggers to where when that trigger fires, it sets off a mando chaser police car (the new one in 1.08) as against the human squad playing the mission. (IE player "soldier1, soldier2, soldier3, soldier4, etc)

I think it would be a fun odd twist.

Russ
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 15 Jun 2007, 00:09:17
Just execute the mando_chaser script in the activation field of these triggers, there should not be any problem with that.
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 15 Jun 2007, 09:57:56
I seem to be having a little trouble.

I'm trying to do a basic execution of a tank chasing me using a basic trigger.

This syntax is incorrect - what is the correct syntax for executing a script with switches like this in a tigger's activation field?

This is what I did (that doesn't work)

ON ACT:  ["M1Abrams", getMarkerPos "mk_chaser", 90, objNull, Ua1, 40,10, 60, 7] execVM "mando_chaser.sqf"


I think what I'm after is your invoke script modified where it's activated/executed by a trigger so I can set the variables in the invokesqs as needed. Also, the invoke.sqs script would need to be modified to remove the camera elements (obviously) - since I won't be needing/using that.

That invoke.sqs is good because of the way it goes after the players, checks for dead, has your funny sounds, and uses the "effects" you set up (neat stuff).

Any help, I'd appreciate! :)
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 15 Jun 2007, 10:25:04
You may modify invoke script at will but your problem is related to execVM in activation fields of wps or triggers, a return value is needed:

return = [blah, blah, blah]execVm"scriptname.sqf"

This return value is not needed if you use execVM within scripts.
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 15 Jun 2007, 10:51:34
I put in a return value, but I get the following error.

(http://www.satexas.com/software/mandoerror.gif)

I used this as my syntax in the trigger:

Code: [Select]
return = ["M1Abrams", getMarkerPos "mk_chaser", 90, objNull, Ua1, 40,10, 60, 7] execVM "mando_chaser.sqf"
("Ua1" is the name of the player to chase)

I'm 'assuming' that I don't care what the return value actually is, so I just used "return".. correct?

Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 15 Jun 2007, 11:29:15
Yep, you should not care about the return, but you should care about script's arguments, as targets is the array of targets to pursue, in your case a single one: [Ua1]

return = ["M1Abrams", getMarkerPos "mk_chaser", 90, objNull, [Ua1], 40,10, 60, 7] execVM "mando_chaser.sqf"
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 16 Jun 2007, 01:48:11
Mando,

Thanks - that worked excellent. I didn't realize I needed the [ ] (in reading the comments at the top of your script, it didn't mention them, so I didn't think "array" and thus "brackets"].

Again, thanks for your help.

Any chance I can get you to do a quick "rip" on your "invoke.sqs" ripping out the camera following effects leaving just the fire (and maybe smoke) and laughing effects on the mando chasing vehicle? That would be cool as heck.

Your chaser is awesomely funny and unique, but missing something with your manical laughing and "flaming" effects". :)
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 16 Jun 2007, 02:54:39
LOL, so what you really want is the devil chaser  :P
I'll try to have something tomorrow.

EDIT: Well Satexas, the devil thing is now waiting for you  :D
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 17 Jun 2007, 06:19:07
Mando,

You rock. :)

Possible error you may or may not have thought of...

When I run your demo (NC mode) and watch the tank kill.. when it's done, I invoke it again, and I get a zero divisior error. I understand "why", because stuff is dead or not longer in existance, and listed in the array of things to go hunt/kill.

But that leads to possible problems with a mission line mine, where I"ll put all 10 "playable" guys in the array on mine.. but if 10 humans aren't in all the slots, I would assume I'd constantly get the zero divisor error also...

Russ
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 17 Jun 2007, 14:01:25
Thanks satexas. Both scripts updated to v1.1, hope the problem is gone now  ;)
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 18 Jun 2007, 03:09:56
Again, you rock  :D

I added these 2 lines at end of Invoke script because I prefer to delete the created vehicle after the "purple spirit" leaves.

Code: [Select]
Sleep 12;
deleteVehicle _unit;

You may want to add those into your master copies, as I think it makes sense to create it, have it wreck havoc, then remove it than leave a bunch of them around on a mission... but that's just my opinion.

Again, YOU ROCK  :D

Russ
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 18 Jun 2007, 20:34:55
Well, you may do that in invoke.sqf, for example, if _type == "". Which would mean you are creating the unit instead of using an existing one. But if you are using units already present may be you will not want to deleted them after all the devil stuff is done  ;)
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: satexas69 on 13 Jul 2007, 03:18:18
What we need now is to modify it for "Mando Chopper Chaser" and have some MH that flies at you and tries to land/smash into you like like a crashing meteor (spelling?)
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Mandoble on 13 Jul 2007, 10:05:21
That already exist, it is called mando missile  :D, just use the MH as class for missile body  :P
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: Taurus on 14 Jul 2007, 13:45:38
Mandoble!
Mwuhahaahahaha!! :D

I almost fell of my chair here, you must be truly insane, or you have too much time or both!
Not that this is a bad thing ;)

The tank didn't manage to kill the ship, it just pushed it around in a big circle, I changed the ship to a humw instead so it drove on land, worked better.

Great work you've got there!
I'm clearly impressed!
 :clap:
Title: Re: Mando Chaser
Post by: sharkattack on 10 Aug 2007, 17:35:43
hope it works with these when they become animated
http://www.armedassault.info/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=637&Itemid=2 (http://www.armedassault.info/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=637&Itemid=2)