Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Veteran in single scripting, noob in multi  (Read 1975 times)

Offline bardosy

• Honoured Contributor
  • campaign designer
    • CartooDiv
Veteran in single scripting, noob in multi
« on: 14 Oct 2011, 09:06:49 »
Hey,

I'm a veteran mission/campaign designer since OFP. And I created many scripts too. But - until now - I did it for single missions. Now I start to create multi missions, but I know nothing about multi scripting. Errrr... I have imagines about multi scripting and probably this is worst than know nothing. :)

Questions:

1. A good tutorial for multi scripting? I need only the multi specific things.

2. As I saw, the scripts for multiplayer missions start with a check, if the script run on the server and if not, then exit. Is it a basic truth? I have to start all the scripts with this? Eg: if I create a basic mission with lot of enemies in a town and I want to create a script if the enemies numer is under 5, the players got a new order, because 5 is low enough to continue the mission. And I check the enemies count by a script. Do I start this script with a if not server then exit?
And if I put a trigger to somewhere to check the BLUE presence and then run a script to spawn (create) a team of opfor. Do I start this create-script with server check? And if I didn't, this script run in every client and create so many opfor team as the players' count?

3. Please advice me a good respawn script.
I loved the mechanism of respawn in Insurgency. Is it a common respawn script or I have to mine it from the Insurgency?
Fix bayonet!

Offline i0n0s

Re: Veteran in single scripting, noob in multi
« Reply #1 on: 14 Oct 2011, 11:56:12 »
You have to watch for the locality of the functions.