Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Trying to perfect a simple mission  (Read 1692 times)

Offline Bahger

• Members
Trying to perfect a simple mission
« on: 15 Feb 2010, 05:12:52 »
Hey guys.  I posted my first mission, "USMC Village Raid", in the SP beta testing forum today:

http://www.ofpec.com/forum/index.php?topic=34655.0

As you can see, it got savaged by one remarkably unsympathetic user, but before I remove it, or give up on ArmA 2 mission design, I'm going to make a last attempt to get it all right.  My problem has been that I hate to have to ask about everything on forums, yet a lot of the documentation is either outdated (written for OFP/ArmA) or way too advanced for the beginner.  I have no experience in coding language, have not wrapped my brain around scripting yet and for the time being am hoping only to achieve some mastery of the Editor functions.  To that end, and in an attempt to address this poster's valid criticisms, unpleasant as he makes himself sound in expressing them, can anyone help me with the following:

- How do I incorporate an overview so that the player can look at the map/briefing before the mission starts?

- I have an End #1 trigger but the debrief does not incorporate mission tasks-accomplished headers.  In which external text file or Editor field do I place the following code to address this:

Code: [Select]
MAG_tskObj0 settaskstate "Succeeded" for task # 1
MAG_tskObj1 settaskstate "Succeeded" for task # 2

-  I also need to know how to eliminate plotted route lines for a unit from the map screen.

-  I want to learn more about "modules", groups and synchronisation and the basic underlying principles of solid mission construction.  My mission coding  might have been jury-rigged when compared with the standards of an expert but it plays well, and is well balanced.  I will never be an expert unless I get the opportunity to learn how the Editor ninjas do it.

« Last Edit: 15 Feb 2010, 09:52:51 by Bahger »