Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Changing all Opfor from "GUER" to "EAST" in WordPad  (Read 1523 times)

Offline desertjedi

• Members
Changing all Opfor from "GUER" to "EAST" in WordPad
« on: 31 Mar 2009, 23:00:58 »
I've been doing some minor editing to the "CoopPack Multi-Purpose Training" mission pack on and off since I started playing Arma about six months ago. It's one of my favorite mission packs and I've done several things to it making it easier for solo play or two players (with AI mates).

After playing a lot of Evo and Domination, I went back to this pack for some vanilla, "standard-pace" gameplay. So, I'm the last guy alive in a barn-like structure with big openings at both ends running back and forth pasting Opfor with the SAW while they try to flank me. Finally I see one point blank and prone and I light him up and then I notice...he's wearing a RACS uniform?!?! How many times have I played this mission and not noticed that??? I guess I just never got that close to them before!

So I look in the mission.sqm file and all the Opfor are set up as SIDE="GUER". My question is...can I use WordPad to do a global change of SIDE="GUER" to SIDE="EAST"? I'm guessing it would work fine for the enemy soldiers but am I going to get tripped up by some vehicles or equipment that might have that attribute? Or does "SIDE=" only apply to soldiers?

BTW, I noticed that one of the scripts has RACS as not friendly to the West so I can change that as well. It's used to set AI skill levels based on whether the force is "friendly" or not.
« Last Edit: 31 Mar 2009, 23:10:22 by desertjedi »

Offline Spooner

• Members
  • Mostly useless
    • Community Base Addons
Re: Changing all Opfor from "GUER" to "EAST" in WordPad
« Reply #1 on: 01 Apr 2009, 00:34:06 »