Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Help with my first addon  (Read 1491 times)

Offline Zorasht

• Members
    • 4th Perrus Squadron
Help with my first addon
« on: 02 Jun 2008, 10:56:42 »
Hi,
I'm new in addon making . I do not really know where to start from.
I have taken a look at diferent addons to see how  are they structured and get a rough idea of how it might be done.

Let's start from the begining, we have a dedicated server, and we use a lot of addons on it. The thing is that we have loads of different weapons from the addons, and when it comes to missions making, we have to be creating scritps for ammo boxes, because we don't use all the weapons at once, just the ones that fits for the mission or the mission author like.

So my idea is to create an addon which add all those scripts to the game editor as ammo boxes, so instead having to use and edit the scritps for each mission we could have a bunch of custom mixed ammo crates on the editor, simplifiying everything.

So my first question is how to add a custom ammo box to the editor menu. Because the addon that i've been looking at as examples are weapons addons, and they have all the entries for each weapon and I get a little bit confused of what is actually needed to add only for the ammo boxes.

The second idea is to make custom groups using the units and the vehicles from addons. I mean, create a group which appears in the editor under BLUEFOR, OPFOR or Independent using for example the technicals from QG with insugents from the WP addon, o desert vehicles from McNools vechicles pack with desert soldiers from any other addon. There are many addons which add their own groups, but other doesn't, so I would like to have them ready to use in the editor. Would it be to complex to do?

I'm also not too pretty sure how dependencies work, but I assume that might be somehow like in the missions that depends on addons, isn't it?