Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Can somebody plz explain the Trigger Types?  (Read 1803 times)

tai mai shu

Can somebody plz explain the Trigger Types?
« on: 22 Aug 2002, 04:19:20 »
hello, i am a newbie, and i would appreciate if someone would plz ecplain the different trigger types (switch, etc..) and give an example of their use/ advantage fo thier use.  f someone does compile enuff info in this thread, it will make a nice addition to teh upcoming FAQ thread.  ;D

zsa_zsa_rasputin

Re:Can somebody plz explain the Trigger Types?
« Reply #1 on: 22 Aug 2002, 14:16:41 »
If you have the addon "RedHammer" - there should be a booklet in there with a LOAD of helpful stuff about the editor...
But I'm guessing you DONT  :-\
Ah well...
As FAR as I can remember (the computer I'm using doesn't have OFP on and I cant remember them all...)

But Switch is basically the most useful and versatile of all of them...
If you find a trigger doesn't seem to be working - nine times out of ten it'll be because you missed something simple like setting it to "switch".

A SWITCH trigger means simple that - once activated it will perform it's OnActivation code. Meaning if you have a patrol circuiting a town, and a certain trigger makes them run to the centre of town and hide - then using a switch trigger would make them do this - no matter whatever else they were doing.

I could explain things better if I had the booklet with me - but I hope this helps a bit mate :)

Dan  ;D

mikeb

« Reply #2 on: 22 Aug 2002, 14:27:07 »
I always use trigger type NONE as this does what you've described above and saimply activate on the condition line.