Home   Help Search Login Register  

Author Topic: Enemy AI Supressing Fire  (Read 1679 times)

RM-Dog

Enemy AI Supressing Fire
« on: 05 Jan 2004, 05:36:00 »
Ok I am a newbie at all this scripting stuff - I have been trying to make a script where the enemy M2 mg's lay down supressing fire over a certain arc while the enemy AI units move up. Tried the DoFire and CommandFire but does not have the effect required as they are firing at a specified target. Need some idea as how to get them to fire randomly in a certain direction for a certain time.

RM-Dog
  :-\

Offline dmakatra

• Members
  • Better known as Armsty
Re:Enemy AI Supressing Fire
« Reply #1 on: 05 Jan 2004, 17:40:25 »
You might consider only posting one topic. You're breaking the OFPEC law. :P

:beat: *Gets Shot* :beat:

Offline General Barron

• Former Staff
  • Semper Fi!
« Reply #2 on: 05 Jan 2004, 20:58:12 »
Here's some short scripts from a mission I was working on:

fire.sqs

Code: [Select]
_gun = _this select 0
_target = _this select 1
_dir = 0
_radius = 0

#Top
@_gun ammo "browning" > 0
_radius = (random 10) + 15
_dir = _dir + random 45
_gun dowatch [(getmarkerpos _target select 0) + _radius * cos _dir, (getmarkerpos _target select 1) + _radius * sin _dir, random 10]
_gun fire["browning","browning"]
~.1
goto "Top"

wigglemarker.sqs:

Code: [Select]
_mark = _this select 0
_theta = -1 * (_this select 1) + 90
_dist = (_this select 2) * 125
_speed = (_this select 3) * 10
_center = getMarkerPos _mark

_adjust = 0
_dir = 1

#Top
_mark setMarkerPos [(_center select 0)  + (cos _theta) * _adjust, (_center select 1)  + (sin _theta) * _adjust]
?_adjust >= _dist OR _adjust <= -1 * _dist : _dir = _dir * -1
_adjust = _adjust + (_dir * _dist / _speed)
~.001
goto "Top"